Being the extreme procrastinator that I’am, I have a habit of leaving blog posts unfinished. As you’ll recall, last week I momentarily stood on my soap box to announce to the world that I had officially broken up with the sports industry…..momentarily.

After I finished my short, but well-stated rant, I came across an unfinished blog post about a conversation I had with a then-colleague of mine. A few months before our conversation, my colleague too had parted ways with the sports industry. Below is the unfinished and unedited blog post of my thoughts on someone else’s decision to leave the sports industry.

For the Love of Money 

Raise your hand if you’ve ever had to turn down an unpaid internship in your field of choice to accept a highly paid job in a respectable industry that  made you long for a root canal for 8 hours each day. Is your hand up?

Then you, my friend, understand the love of money. 

This dilemma came to my attention when speaking with a colleague of mine who left the word of sports business for a higher paying job outside of the industry. I’ve never been one of those people who said I just want to make a lot of money no matter what I actually end up doing. I’ve known several people who majored in accounting just because it meant having a reliable source of income. He says he won’t go back because he’s too accustomed to “the good life”.

As an intern, he was tired of being poor and was beyond ready to get away from that life. Well, aren’t we all, I thought. 

He says that he misses it everyday and wishes he could go back…..if they paid more. Am I being completely naive in thinking  that doing what I really want to do is worth more than a respectable salary? 

I want to live well and I don’t want to struggle. But does that mean I have to get out of the sports industry in order to do so? Honestly, I don’t think so. Call me naive, but a career is always going to be worth more than a job. An internship is supposed to be hard. It’s a weeding out path like those hardcore freshman courses in school. If you really wanted to do it, then you would. If it were easy everyone would do it. 
A bit of advice, don’t let the nay-sayers discourage you from your dreams just because they couldn’t stick it out past a few internships. If you’re like me and can’t imagine doing anything else then stay the course.  

You are not deterred by the love of money. 

At the risk of sounding like a hypocrite, I have to say that I did not agree with his reasons to leave then and I still don’t agree with them now. My temporary leave from sports was in part due to a small amount of frustration, however my decision was made easier because like most people, I have other passions. There are other industries that I wish to learn about.

The sports industry isn’t for everyone. It’s an industry that requires a lot of hard work, long weekends and lots of experience to break in to. No matter what industry I end up in, I know it won’t be because it’s a respectable industry with a reliable source of income.

