A couple of weeks ago, I wrote an article in frustration when my job search wasn’t going the way I had planned. I’m sorry if this is more of a rant, than an intellectual article. I just figured that at least one other person feels the way I do. As always, feel free to comment, agree, disagree, etc.

Is This What They Call a Quarter Life Crisis?

Before I became a 20-something, I used to think a quarter life crisis was for people who lacked direction, for people who didn’t know what they wanted to do with their lives after college. But now, I know from firsthand experience that 20-somethings are having a quarter life crisis because we know what we want, it’s just no one’s willing to give it to us.

Universities should start offering classes like: Rejection Letters 101, The Art of Rejection and What Happens Next. But of course, that would be a bit pessimistic. But, reality is….life after college isn’t all rainbows and kittens. From day one of orientation, we’re told that you are at the “best” university, no matter what university you went to. I hail from THE University of Texas, where there is no shortage of school pride. So, I get it. They taught us how to weigh our options, to decipher between multiple job offers. But no one ever told us what to do when you have no options, when there are no offers to decipher between. Business professionals were so warm and gracious to talk to you, when you’re a student. But, once you’re past that stage you become lumped in with the other individuals begging for a job.

I followed the steps. I did everything right. I had multiple internships, dating back to my sophomore year. In life, you’re taught that if you followed the steps and stayed on the path, good things will happen and you will be rewarded at the finish line. However, someone forgot to mention that in life, there is no finish line. We should never be content with the life that we have. More importantly everything you want in life will not come to fruition in one epic moment. Life is a marathon, not a race.  Disappointment is inevitable. We all magically assumed that if we followed the steps, only one outcome was possible, we’d get the job. What other option could there be, right?

WRONG. Those participating in the never ending cycle of job searching know what I mean. There are just too few jobs, for too many applicants. Every academic advisor has done their best to try and predict what HR managers want and think. But you’ll never be able to go on enough interviews to determine what they think. They are human beings and complex creatures.

So what do we do now? Things happen, the past is the past and the only thing we can do is move forward. The best piece of advice I can give anyone, is to never give up on yourself. Have faith in you. Your intelligence and talents are in no way diminished because you can’t find a job.  I’ve gotten many rejection letters in my life and each one hurts more than the last. But remember, life is a marathon, our time will come.

